If you are having any issues logging in please contact: kyle@themodzoo.com

retrosmith

One Last Time - Black Cherry

Hello to my fellow modders!  I'm new to The Mod Zoo so I don't know many of you here yet so I'll just stick with that.  I've got a scratchbuild project going on, and I received an invitation to post a worklog here.  Please forgive what seems an abrupt opening, as I hadn't really planned to post a log.  The first pictures I have are well into the construction process.  Further updates should be both shorter and more timely.   :)

So to this project.  I've decided it's time to get out of the custom PC world and move on to something else.  I love it but it just doesn't give the satisfaction it once did. Having said that, I couldn't move on without building one last nice custom PC, this one for myself.  So was born Black Cherry.

I love working with wood and am blessed with a decent woodshop.  I've made a couple of iterations of this case design before, dubbed Open Air and Open Air Mk 2 (very creative, I know).  

I loved that first wooden case.  It was built specifically to fit on the file cabinet next to my desk, and its width was limited to that space.  This one will be sitting in the exact same spot, so the width is again limited, though I had to allow a couple of inches overhang, giving a total width of 17 inches.  Since I want a custom water loop in this one, I needed a lot more interior space.  I managed to cram it all in there by making this one slightly taller and quite a bit deeper.

This is the first image I took of the case assembled during construction:

HJAEdRJ.jpg

The body is cherry, the top and side panels are all 1/4" black cast acrylic, and the border inlay is walnut and maple with tigerwood corner strips.  

I debated doing the inlay at all as I thought it would make it too busy, but I think this pattern in this location came out pretty well.  

xSAgWeW.jpg