Sign in to follow this  
Kylevdm

Raspberry Pi Fan Control HAT

Hello everyone, 

Ever since I bought my first Raspberry Pi, the original model, I have wanted to build a HAT (Hardware Attached on Top) for the Raspberry Pi to control my PC. I have been slowly building up exactly what I want the board to do for a long time now. However, I have not had the time nor the perfected skill set to do everything that I wanted. Although I was doing Electronic Engineering as a degree I very rarely got to design a PCB, and when I did it was horrid. So now that I am working as an Electronic Engineer I have gone through more training and am in a position where I can build it to a decent standard!

So lets first discuss what I want the board to be able to:

• Control at least 8 channels of 3 fans each.
  • Power the PC on and off
  • Modularly connect to additional control boards
  • RGB LED control

With that I started with the schematic design, I have gone through a number of different iterations of the design. First starting in OrCAD the chosen CAD package at university but it is not well documented nor accessible to the masses with a price tag that is so far out of this world it is not worth thinking about. For these reasons I switched to EAGLE PCB which is supported by a huge majority of the hobbyist community as well as PCB houses. Additionally huge libraries are available from Adafruit and Sparkfun.

Below contains most of the features I wanted for the board, fan control for 13 3-pin fans, control for RGB LEDs. I will go through how each of these features shortly but for now have a look at the whole thing.

1.PNG